New Orleans

Record Producers:- Dave Bartholomew and Allen Toussaint.


Fats Domino Irma Thomas Tony Joe White Aaron Neville, Lee Dorsey, Dr John and loads more besides came from New Orleans. Top UK reissue label Soul Jazz follow up their popular New Orleans Funk compilation with a second visit to the vaults of fifties, sixties and seventies funk and soul from the South.
Featuring many of the same artists as New Orleans Funk, Saturday Night Fish Fry adds to the overview of the distinctive New Orleans sound, where you’ll find an unmistakable skip in the funky beat. Singers like Betty Harris, Eddie Bo and Lee Dorsey get busy over tight-assed backbeats courtesy of New Orleans’ finest musicians and producers.

New Orleans
New Orleans tram car

Collecting singles released by the city’s scores of obscurely named independent record labels like Seven-B, Choctaw, Red Bird, Deesu and Mor-Soul, many of which were only ever localised hits, the Soul Jazz crew have added another essential volume to their already extensive archives of funky black American music.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
01   Roger And The Gypsies – Pass The Hatchet
02   Betty Harris – Mean Man
03   Dixie Cups – Iko Iko
04   David Bastiste – Funky Soul
05   Eldridge Holmes – Where Is Love
06   Lee Dorsey – Give It Up
07   Salt – Hung Up
08   Huey Piano Smith – Little Liza Jane
09   Eddie Bo – The Thang
10   The Wlid Magnolias – Soul, Soul, Soul
11   Bobby & the Heavyweights – Soul Train
12   Betty Harris – Break in the Road
13   Eldridge Holmes – Hump Back
14   The Meters – Message from the Meters
15   Dr. John – Gris Gris Gumbo Ya Ya
16   Irma Thomas – Don’t Mess with my Man
17   The Gaturs – Cold Bear
18   Oliver Morgan – Roll Call
19   Inell Young – The Next Ball Game
20   Lee Dorsey – Yes We Can Can
21   Irma Thomas – Ruler of my Heart
22   Smokey Johnson – I Can’t Help It